Call for PhD Symposium


The ER2014 PhD Symposium calls for original papers reporting research results, applications and system development experiences, in all topics related to the ER conference series. The workshop will offer PhD students the opportunity to present and discuss their research and to interact with other researchers, experts in the field of conceptual modeling, who could provide feedback on their research.

Important Dates

May 12, 2014: Full paper submission
June 9, 2014: Author notification
June 30, 2014: Camera-ready paper submission
July 2, 2014: Author registration

Submission Guidelines

The papers should not exceed 10 pages in the LNCS conference proceedings style and must be authored by one or more PhD students only.

A paper submitted to the ER 2014 PhD Symposium may not be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for ER 2014. Submissions will be electronically managed via EasyChair. Authors are asked to submit an abstract first, and then to upload the full paper.
The link to the sign-in page for EasyChair is
The submission page is  E-mail if you have problem accessing the submission page.

Submissions will be judged based on originality, significance, technical merit, presentation quality, and relevance. Each paper will be reviewed by at least two members of the PhD Symposium Program Committee. Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings of the PhD Symposium. The authors of accepted papers must register to the conference, attend the Symposium and present their paper. Failure to register or to attend will entail removal of their submission from the proceedings.

The top three accepted papers will be reviewed by the ER2014 Program Chairs for evaluating their possible presentation during a regular session of the ER 2014 Conference and inclusion in the ER2014 Conference proceedings.

PhD Symposium PC Members

Yuan An, Drexel University, USA
Roger Chiang, University of Cincinnati, USA
Stephen Liddle, Brigham Young University, USA
Shamkant B. Navathe, Georgia Institute Of Technology, USA
José Palazzo M. De Oliveira, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, USA
Il-Yeol Song, Drexel University, USA
Vijayan Sugumaran, Oakland University, USA

PhD Symposium Chairs

Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada